top of page

The TONY's Awards Announce the 2017 Winners of Stage and Theatrical 24 Categories !


NEW YORK(SMI-WIRE,06.11.17)The 71st Annual Tony Awards were held on June 11, 2017, to recognize achievement in Broadway productions during the 2016–17 season.This annual event was hosted by American actor Kevin Spacey and the ceremony was held at Radio City Music Hall in New York City.

The musical Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812 led the nominations with 12, while the play with the most nominations was A Doll's House, Part 2, with eight.At the ceremony, Dear Evan Hansen won six awards, including Best Musical, becoming the winningest production of the season. The Bette Midler-led revival of Hello, Dolly !

won four awards, and The Great Comet won two. The productions of plays  The Lle Foxes, Indecent, and Olson each won two awards.

The 71st Tony Awards Winners are the Following:


Best Musical:  

Dear Van Hasen 

Best Play:  


Musical revival: 

Hello Dolly

Best Play revival


Best Leading actor in a Play:

 Kevin Kline, Present laughter

Best Leading actress in a Play:

Laurie Metcalf, A Doll's House, Part 2

Best Leading actor in a Musical:

Ben Platt, Dear Evan Hansen

Best Leading actress in a Musical:

Bette Midler, Hello, Dolly !

Best Featured actor in a Play: 

Michael Aronov, Oslo

Best Featured actress, in a Play:

Cynthia Nixon,  The Little Foxes

Best Featured actor in a Musical: 

Gavin Creel, Hello, Dolly !

Best Featured actress in a Musical:

Rachel Bay Jones, Dear Evan Hansen

Best Book, musical:

Steven Levenson, Dear Evan Hansen,

Best Original score:

Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan Hansen music and lyrics,)

Best Scenic Design in A Play:

Nigel Hook, The Play That Goes Wrong

Best Scenic Design in A Musical:

Mimi Lien,  Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet 1812

Best Costume Design in a Play:

Jane Greenwood, The Little Foxes

Best Costume Design in A Musical:

Santo Loquasto, Hello, Dolly !

Best Lighting Design in A Play:

Christopher Akerlind,  Indecent

Best Lighting Design in A Musical:

 Bradley King, Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812 

Best Direction in a Play: 

Rebecca Taichman,  Indecent

Best Direction, musical: 

Christopher Ashley, Come From Away

Best Choreography: 

Andy Blankenbuehler, Bandstand

Best Orchestrations: 

Alex Lacamoire,  Dear Evan Hansen

Special Tony Award for lifetime achievement in the theater:

 James Earl Jones

Special Tony Award: Gareth Fry and Pete Malkin, sound designers for “The Encounter”

Regional Theater Tony Award: Dallas Theater Center, Dallas

Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award: Baayork Lee

Tony Honors for excellence in the theater: Nina Lannan, Alan Wasser

bottom of page