top of page



Alexander Zverev, Marin Cilic, Dominic Thiem, Grigor Dimitrov, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga All Earn Top 10 Seeds….

New York(SMI-WIRE,08.24.17)– The USTA today announced that world No. 1 and two-time US Open champion Rafael Nadal and 2012 US Open champion Andy Murray have been named the top two seeds, respectively – with five-time US Open champion Roger Federer seeded No. 3 – in men’s singles at the 2017 US Open. The 2017 US Open will be played Aug. 28-Sept. 10 at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y. The US Open Men’s Singles Championship is presented by Chase.


Germany’s Alexander Zverev, who has won five ATP singles titles this  seeded fourth, while fifth-seeded Marin Cilic, the 2014 US Open champion, joins Nadal (2010, 2013) Murray (2012), and Federer (2004-08) as the former US Open champions seeded in the Top 10. 2017 French Open semifinalist Dominic Thiem, of Austria, is seeded sixth. Bulgaria’s Grigor Dimitrov, who last week won his first ATP Masters 1000 title at the US Open Series’ Western & Southern Open in Cincinnati, is seeded seventh. Three-time US Open quarterfinalist Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, of France, is seeded No. 8.


Juan Martin Del Potro, who won the 2009 US Open, is seeded No. 24.


Nadal, 31, regained the No. 1 ranking this week for the first time since June 2014. He won his tenth French Open singles title this year and also reached the final at the Australian Open. Murray, 30, comes into the US Open after reaching the semifinals of the French Open and quarterfinals at Wimbledon this year and holding the world No. 1 ranking for all of 2017 until Nadal recaptured it this week.


Federer, 36, is competing at the US Open to become the first male player to win 20 Grand Slam singles titles. By winning his sixth singles title in New York, Federer would also break the three-way tie between him, Jimmy Connors and Pete Sampras for most US Open singles titles won in the Open Era.


Three American men are seeded at this year’s US Open—No. 10 John Isner, No. 13 Jack Sock, and No. 17 Sam Querrey.


Defending US Open champion and world No. 4 Stan Wawrinka will not be competing in this year’s US Open due to a knee injury, while two-time US Open champion and world No. 5 Novak Djokovic will not be competing to recover from a right elbow injury. 2014 US Open finalist and world No. 10 Kei Nishikori will not be competing because of a right wrist injury, while  No. 11 Milos Raonic has withdrawn due to a left wrist injury.


For 2017, the US Open followed the Emirates ATP Rankings released Monday, August 21, to determine the men’s singles seeds. This is the 17th consecutive year that the US Open will seed 32 players in singles.


The singles for the 2017 US Open will be revealed live during an official draw ceremony, which will be open to the public for the first time, on Friday, August 25, at 12 noon ET at the US Open Experience at the historic Seaport District NYC. The ceremony will conclude with an appearance by defending women’s singles champion Angelique Kerber and 2014 US Open champion Marin Cilic, as well as other special guests.

2017 US Open Men’s Singles Seeds


1.     Rafael Nadal, Spain

2.     Andy Murray, Great Britain

3.     Roger Federer, Switzerland

4.     Alexander Zverev, Germany

5.     Marin Cilic, Croatia

6.     Dominic Thiem, Austria

7.     Grigor Dimitrov, Bulgaria

8.     Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, France

9.     David Goffin, Belgium

10.  John Isner, United States

11.  Roberto Bautista Agut, Spain

12.  Pablo Carreno Busta, Spain

13.  Jack Sock, United States

14.  Nick Kyrgios, Australia

15.  Tomas Berdych, Czech Republic

16.  Lucas Pouille, France

17.  Sam Querrey, United States

18.  Gael Monfils, France

19.  Gilles Muller, Luxembourg

20.  Albert Ramos-Vinolas, Spain

21.  David Ferrer, Spain

22.  Fabio Fognini, Italy

23.  Mischa Zverev, Germany

24.  Juan Martin del Potro, Argentina

25.  Karen Khachanov, Russia

26.  Richard Gasquet, France

27.  Pablo Cuevas, Uruguay

28.  Kevin Anderson, South Africa

29.  Diego Schwartzman, Argentina

30.  Adrian Mannarino, France

31.  Feliciano Lopez, Spain

32.  Robin Haase, the Netherlands

The USTA is the national governing body for the sport of tennis in the U.S. and the leader in promoting and developing the growth of tennis at every level -- from local communities to the highest level of the professional game. A not-for-profit organization with more than 715,000 members, it invests 100% of its proceeds in growing the game. It owns and operates the US Open, one of the highest-attended annual sporting events in the world, and launched the US Open Series, linking seven  WTA and ATP World Tour tournaments to the US Open. In addition, it owns approximately 90 Pro Circuit events throughout the U.S. and selects the teams for the Davis Cup, Fed Cup, Olympic and Paralympic Games. The USTA’s philanthropic entity, the USTA Foundation, provides grants and scholarships in addition to supporting tennis and education programs nationwide to benefit under-resourced youth through the National Junior Tennis & Learning (NJTL) network.

bottom of page