top of page

The Chita Rivera Awards Honored Legends from the Theater Industry; Carmen De Lavallade, John Kander & Harold Prince, On Its 2nd Annual Awards Celebration….!

New York(SMI-WIRE,05.20.18)-The Chita Rivera annual Awards that celebrates dance and choreographic excellence -past, present and future, honored three legends from the stage industry  this evening, Carmen De Lavallade, John Kander and Hall of Fame Harold Prince, during its second annual edition at NYU Skirball Center For The Performing Arts in Manhattan.

The mission of the Chita Rivera Awards is to celebrate dance and choreographic 

excellence and the awards seek to continue that vision by not only celebrating the superb achievement of  each nominee but by recognizing the immeasurable and passion of every choreographer and dancer. Additionally, through education and scholarships, the awards are committed to nurturing future generations , as well as preserving notable dance history.

The 2018 Chita Rivera Awards honorees were recipient of the following awards:

Carmen De Lavallade was recipient of the 2nd Annual Lifetime Achievement Award

John Kander (Iconic Composer): was recipient of The Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theater Award.

Harold Prince (Legendary & Hall of Famer) was presented with the SDC Director Award for Exemplary Collaboration with Choreographers.

Note: All three have been Kennedy Center Honorees

The 2018  Chita Awards Winners:


Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show:

Sergio Trujillo; Summer: The Donna Summer Musical **Winner**

Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show:

Carousel **Winner** (tie)

Mean Girls **Winner** (tie)

Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show:

Tony Yazbeck Prince of Broadway **Winner**

Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show:

Ariana DeBose Summer: The Donna Summer Musical **Winner**

Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show:

 Zach Morris & Jennine Willet, Ghost Light **Winner**

Outstanding Female Dancer in an Off- Broadway Show:

Monica Bill Barnes One Night Only **Winner**

Outstanding Male Dancer in an Off- Broadway Show:

Robert Fairchild Frankenstein **Winner**


Theatrical Release

The Greatest Showman - (Release date December 20, 2017 stars, Hugh Jackman )Shannon Holtzapffel, Ashley Wallen, Choreographers **Winner**


Anatomy of a Male Ballet Dancer - Directed by David Barba and James Pellerito* Release date January 3, 2018 stars Marcelo Gomes ) **Winner**

bottom of page