top of page

NEW YORK ,NY(SMI- NEWS-AWARDS,09.28-10.01.21)-The National Academy of Television  of Arts and science celebrated its 42nd News and Documentary Emmy Awards through a 2-days virtual ceremonies, honoring excellence in news journalism and documentary filmmakers for their news coverage and storytelling during the calendar of the year 2020.


The 42nd  Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards honors this year the programming contents from more than 2200 submissions that originally premiered in calendar-year 2020, judged by a pool of 950 peer professionals from across the television and streaming/digital media News & Documentary industry. 

It also recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, and Daytime television programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. 

The 42nd-Documentary Emmy Awards Winners are: 

Outstanding Arts and Culture:

Nicole London, Producer of Firelight Media & Films  wins a

Doc Emmy with "  Miles Davis: Birth Of The Cool"  PBS " WINNER"

Outstanding Writing:Documentary


Deia Schlosberg , Director wins the Emmy  with “ The Story of Plastic ”

Outstanding Sound: 

Benny Mouthon , CAS /Supervising Sound Editor & Re-Recording Mixer wins the Emmy with " Miles Davis: Birth Of The Cool" 

Outstanding  Politics and Government Documentary

Richard Rowley/ Director Midnight Films  wins the Emmy with:

 " Kingdom Of Silence " Showtime

Outstanding Social Issue Documentary 

Chary Fink /Director  POV/PBS wins the Emmy with " The Rescue List "

Outstanding Cinematography: Documentary

Ross McDonnell/Cinematographer wins the Emmy with“ The Trade “


Outstanding Investigating Documentary: 

Jon Shenk, Director & Co-Founder Actual Films Inc wins the Emmy

with " Athlete A “ Netflix

Outstanding Graphic Design & Art Direction:Documentary 

Simon Wood, Creative Director with Netflix wins

the Emmy with " Alien Worlds "


Outstanding Historical Documentary 

James Bluemel , Director wins an Emmy with " Once Upon A Time in Iraq “

Outstanding Editing:Documentary 

Amy Foote, Editor/ Netflix  wins the Emmy with " Father Soldier Son "

Outstanding Current Affairs Documentary 

Erika Cohn, Director / Producer Wins the Emmy with“Belly of The Beast"

Outstanding Lighting  Direction / Scenic Design  

Knox White, Art Director with HBO Documentary wins

an Emmy with “ Alabama Snakes “


Outstanding Interactive Media Documentary:

 Halsey Burgund, Co-Director wins an Emmy with MIT Center For Advanced

Virtuality " In Event Of Moon Disaster " 


Outstanding Science & Technology Documentary 

Andrew Cohen, Head of The Science Unit / BBC Studios/ Netflix 

wins an Emmy with “ The Surgeon's Cut "

Outstanding Research Documentary

Arthur Jones, Filmmaker & Animator of Independent Lens /PBS 

wins the Emmy with " Feels Good Man"

Outstanding Nature Documentary 

Scott Ressler,  Director  with National Geographic  wins

the Emmy with “ Last Ice “

Outstanding Business & Economic Documentary 

James Jacoby, Writer , Producer & Correspondent of Frontline  in conjunction with the Financial Times / PBS  Wins the Emmy with "

 Amazon Empire: The Rise and Reign of Jeff Bezos "

Outstanding Music Composition 

Adam Lukas, Composer PBS wins the Emmy with “ Primates ”

Outstanding Direction Documentary

 Matthew Heineman, Filmmaker  / Showtime wins the Emmy with “ The Trade "


Outstanding Short Documentary

Maria Clinton , Filmmaker & Educator / POV Shorts PBS  Wins

The Emmy with  "  THE LOVE BUGS "

Best Documentary

Rachel Leah Jones, Director & Producer / PBS  Wins The Emmy with “ Advocate"

bottom of page