top of page
0 copy.jpg



Judy Woodruff of PBS NewsHour honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award...

NEW YORK, NY (SMI-ENTERTAINMENT-AWARDS, 09.28-10.03.22) The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) celebrated its 43rd annual News & Documentary Emmy awards gala during a two separate day ceremonies last week, announcing the winners in 64 categories at the Palladium Times Square in the heart of the Big Apple.

The 2022 News Emmy award winners were announced on Wednesday September 28, while the Documentary award ceremony the following day on Thursday Night September 29, 2022.

The 43rd Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards honors programming content from more than 2500 submissions that originally premiered in calendar-year 2021, judged by a pool of over 870 peer professionals from across the television and streaming/digital media News & Documentary industry.


Judy Woodruff, anchor and managing editor of PBS NewsHour was honored for her ground- breaking career with the Lifetime Achievement Award. The award was presented by Robert MacNeil, co-creator and former co-anchor of the NewsHour.


“Tonight's Emmy winners exemplify broadcast journalism at its best, reporting that values fact over fiction, accountability over advocacy, and that champions the advance of truth in the interest of the communities we all serve”, said Terry O’Reilly, Chairman, NATAS. “America has never needed its journalists more than today. We congratulate tonight's honorees and thank them for the indispensable service they provide to our nation.”

“Making a special night even more so, the Academy is happy to be honoring an extraordinary industry leader, Judy Woodruff, for her amazing life-long work with our prestigious Emmy® Award for Lifetime Achievement,” said Adam Sharp, NATAS CEO & President.

Tonight’s News ceremony was hosted by a group of news industry leaders introducing different segments of the show. The group included:

Margaret Brennan, Moderator, Face the Nation, CBS
Vanessa Hauc, Correspondent and Anchor, Telemundo
Rebecca Jarvis, ABC News’ Chief Business, Technology and Economics Correspondent Omar Jimenez , Correspondent, CNN
Robert MacNeil, former Anchor/Co-Creator, PBS Newshour
Morgan Radford, Anchor and Correspondent, NBC
Paola Ramos, Correspondent, Vice
Teresa Rodriguez, Anchor, Univision

bottom of page