top of page

Hug and Scaroni smash course records in wheelchair division to claim $50,000 bonuses

NEW YORK, NY(SMI-SPORTS, 11.04.-11.06.22)-Evans Chebet and Sharon Lokedi led a Kenyan sweep of the open division and Marcel Hug of Switzerland and Susannah Scaroni of the United States broke the course records to win the men’s and women’s wheelchair divisions, respectively, today at the 2022 TCS New York City Marathon.


Lokedi won the TCS New York City Marathon in her marathon debut, pulling away in the final two miles to clock a time of 2:23:23 and become the eighth athlete to win the race in their true 26.2-mile debut. It marked the first victory in a New York Road Runners race for Lokedi, who was second at the Mastercard New York Mini 10K and fourth at the United Airlines NYC Half earlier this year.

“It was amazing,” Lokedi said. “I came in just wanting to be in the thick of the race. I knew I was strong and had really good training, so I wanted to go in and put myself in it and see where I ended up. I expected to run well, but it ended up being an even better outcome than I had hoped for.”

Israel’s Lonah Chemtai Salpeter – the reigning World Championships bronze medalist – was the runner-up in 2:23:30 and Ethiopia’s Gotytom Gebreslase – the defending World Championships gold medalist – was third in 2:23:39. Olympian Aliphine Tuliamuk was the top American, taking seventh place in 2:26:18 to record a personal best and her fastest finish in New York in three appearances.

In his TCS New York City Marathon debut, Kenya’s Evans Chebet pulled away from the pack heading into Manhattan to win the men’s race in 2:08:41 seven months after winning the Boston Marathon. Chebet has now finished first or second in 12 marathons during his career.

“The race was hard for me, but I was thankful for my team and have so much gratitude toward my coach,” Chebet said. “My team gave me motivation and I know that after winning Boston I could come to New York and also do well.”

Ethiopia’s Shura Kitata was the runner-up for the second time in New York, 13 seconds behind Chebet in 2:08:54, followed by the Netherlands’ Olympic medalist Abdi Nageeye in third in 2:10:31. Scott Fauble finished as the top American in ninth place overall in 2:13:35.

In the professional wheelchair division, Hug won his fifth career TCS New York City Marathon title, tying Tatyana McFadden and Kurt Fearnley for the most wheelchair division titles in event history. He took the tape in 1:25:26, smashing the previous course record of 1:29:22 set by Fearnley in 2006. The course-record bonus for the professional wheelchair division this year was raised to $50,000, making the wheelchair division bonus equal to the open division bonus.

“It was really incredible – a very fast time. I was surprised, too, about this very fast time,” Hug said.

Daniel Romanchuk of the United States was second in 1:27:38, followed by Jetze Plat of the Netherlands in third in 1:31:28.

In the women’s wheelchair division, American Susannah Scaroni snatched her first TCS New York City Marathon title, breaking the tape in 1:42:43 to break the previous course record of 1:43:04 set by Tatyana McFadden in 2015. It marked her first title in New York and second Abbott World Marathon Majors race victory following her Chicago Marathon victory last month. She became the first American in six years to win the women’s wheelchair division.

Switzerland’s Manuela Schär finished second in 1:45:11, and last year’s champion, Madison de Rozario of Australia, was third in 1:45:24.

The 2022 TCS New York City Marathon marked the race’s return to full capacity with 50,000 runners for the first time since 2019. The TCS New York City Marathon is part of the Abbott World Marathon Majors, a series made up of the world’s six largest and most renowned road races – the Tokyo, Boston, London, Chicago, and TCS New York City Marathons. New York marked the last stop on the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series XIV. The Series XIV champions were Hug, Scaroni, Gebreslase, and Eliud Kipchoge.

For the first-time at the TCS New York City Marathon or any Abbott World Marathon Majors race, prize money was awarded to non-binary runners. Jacob Caswell won the non-binary division in a time of 2:45:12.

bottom of page