top of page

NATIONAL BOARD OF REVIEW Announced Its 2023 HONOREES  for Its 2024 Award Gala....!

NEW YORK, NY (SMI-GLOBAL-ENTERTAINMENT DEC 06-01.11.2024)– The National Board of Review (NBR) announced its 2023 honorees in over 15 categories with Killers of the Flower Moon leading the pack with 4-awards for Best Film, Martin Scorsese( Best Director ), Lily Gladstone  (Best Actress) & Paul Giamatti for Best Actor for The Holdovers.

“Killers of the Flower Moon is the stunning masterpiece from one of our greatest filmmakers, Martin Scorsese. The NBR is proud to award this complex, important, and deeply resonant epic asour Best Film and Scorese as our Best Director,” said NBR President Annie Schulhof. “We are also thrilled to honor Bradley Cooper with our 2024

Icon Award – an equally impressive actor, writer, producer, and director, who brings his passion,artistry, and dedication to everything he does, including his latest beautifully sublime film, Maestro.”


Established in 1909, the NBR recognizes excellence in filmmaking. This year 245 films were viewed by a select group of film enthusiasts, filmmakers, professionals, academics, and students, many of which were followed by in depth discussions with directors, actors, producers, and screenwriters. Ballots were tabulated by the accounting firm of Lutz and Carr CPA.

The National Board of Review’s awards celebrate the art of cinema, with categories that include Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor and Actress, Best Original and Adapted Screenplay, Breakthrough Performance, and Best Directorial Debut, as well as their signature honor, Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography.


This year, the National Board of Review has established a new award category, Outstanding Achievement in Stunt Artistry to celebrate the accomplishments and work of stunt artists.


The honorees will be feted at the NBR Awards Gala hosted by Willie Geist (Host, NBC News’Sunday TODAY with Willie Geist and co-host, MSNBC’s Morning Joe) on Thursday, January 11, 2024 at Cipriani's-42nd Street, in New York City.

Below is a full list of the 2023 award recipients announced by the National Board of Review:

Best Film: Killers of the Flower Moon

Best Director: Martin Scorsese, Killers of the Flower Moon


Best Actor: Paul Giamatti, The Holdovers

Best Actress: Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon

Best Supporting Actor: Mark Ruffalo, Poor Things

Best Supporting Actress: Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers


NBR Icon Award: Bradley Cooper

Best Original Screenplay: David Hemingson, The Holdovers


Best Adapted Screenplay: Tony McNamara, Poor Things


Breakthrough Performance: Teyana Taylor, A Thousand and One


Best Directorial Debut: Celine Song, Past Lives

Best Animated Feature: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse


Best International Film: Anatomy of a Fall

Best Documentary: Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie


Best Ensemble: The Iron Claw

Outstanding Achievement in Stunt Artistry:

Director Chad Stahelski

Stunt Coordinators Stephen Dunlevy & Scott Rogers, 

Fight Coordinator Jeremy Marinas

John Wick: Chapter 4

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography:

Rodrigo Prieto, Barbie & Killers of the Flower


bottom of page